The Universe – Entry Four: Burn or Fade

Guys. Top five sports entertainment crimes perpetrated by The Undertaker in the 00’s and 10’s. Subquestion – is it in fact unfair to criticize a formerly great professional wrestler for his latter-day sins? “Is it better to burn out than fade away?”

Oh, children, come sit under my learning tree as I explain the nature of things.

I’m Brian Andrews, welcome to The Universe. Let’s get started.

 

4. Burn or Fade

 

Okay, so Sting is back. I mean, none of us were holding our breaths for anything in-ring I’m sure… With that being said, that promo for Sting in WWE2K15 was pretty sick.

 

 

I just had to watch it a couple more times! If you aren’t hyped for that you really need to re-evaluate your status as a professional wrestling fan. That is goosebumps, man! I don’t know why I feel the need to defend this, perhaps I’m spending a little too much time with the often-jaded, but always entertaining r/SquaredCircle, or perhaps it’s because there is an outside chance that it could be one of those things that may closely resemble something that a sizable fan contingency would interpret as being, maybe, not exactly a worthy thing to be excited about…

Although I’m not quite sure…

 

Sting’s kind of old. That’s not a knock on the guy. He’s been going for what, over twenty years now, right? I admittedly only know of his earlier work in TNA, but I haven’t heard much bad about him outside of that travesty with Hogan. Oh, and apparently Joker Sting sucked?

Sounded like a good idea at the time or…?

I always try to keep my ear to the ground regarding TNA, and I can’t recall hearing anything bad about his in-ring work. So… I would imagine he’d be game for a little in-ring story.

Here’s the thing though, Sting is 55 years old. If he’s finished with TNA and has signed a deal with WWE, will he wrestle? TNA guys, help me out with this, can Sting still go?

 

 

But even if he can still go, should he? Obviously, you cannot deny Sting’s Hall of Fame worthy career. In TNA or WWE’s expanded canonical universe.

That means his WCW career for all you troglodytes out there…

Sting is one of the all-time greats. Not a person alive can contest that. As far as I’m concerned, the seed has been planted for Sting. An in-ring return is still in the cards in my Marky Mark mind. I just want to believe that he can go in the ring so bad that I just let myself exist in a (WWE) Universe that has Sting wrestling great matches in 2014/2015. So I’ve got that out of the way. Who can we put Sting with though?

 

Top Five Sting Opponents

5. Undertaker

4. Undertaker

3. Undertaker

2. Undertaker

1. Undertaker

 

Let’s get real here. I’ve had a couple days to really think about this, who the hell else could it be with and matter?

Cena – First of all, no. Secondly, I’ve really had enough of this LOLCENAWINS actually coming true. I like meta-humor as much as the next guy, but this joke has been old for awhile. Find some new material.

Orton – Legend Killer? Only your own, kid. God, is this what Rollins is gonna grow into? No thank you. Next.  #MinusFiveStars

Triple H – I thought he was putting over his new breed now…?

His dream remains alive within all of us.

Daniel Bryan – He would annihilate Sting, it wouldn’t be believable. Kinda like with Kane…

CM Punk – He’s got some seeds planted himself, but he’s got some work to do if he thinks he’s coming back with welcoming arms. Just my two cents, but CM Punk is a hypocrite. Show me something that proves otherwise.

 

Anybody else? If you have a case for another Superstar, leave me a comment on this webzone so we can banter back and forth about it until you ultimately realize the folly of your ways and admit logic rules the day.

So it’s Undertaker vs. Sting then.

 

 

Even the WWE is teasing us with it. That little Sting seed has been planted long ago, my friends. It very well could happen, and that is something to be excited about.

 

Just not that excited…

My question to the WWE is this: How in the hell can I get emotionally invested in a match when there is no reason for them to fight?

Without The Streak, The Undertaker has nothing. He’s wrestled four matches since 2011 that I know of, every story since 2011 has been about The Streak, who’s gonna break The Streak, etc. He’s done; he lost; it’s over. I mean, how many matches did he have left anyway? Even if health wasn’t an issue, his actual ability inside the ring has diminished significantly. Not just bell to bell, but promos as well; he just wasn’t into it or something. He always looked kind of lost, he botched his mohawk debut… I mean, talk about burning or fading, that dude had an amazing send-off opportunity at WrestleMania XXVIII. End of an Era. Hell in a Cell. Shawn Michaels, special referee. 20-0.

How do you not end it there? No matter, someone will come along that’s worthy and end the streak the right way… Wait, no. No, that didn’t happen did it? Watch that Sting/Undertaker promo above. Watch it again. It could’ve been legit. Sting probably has one actual meaningful story left to tell. That means he has to win. He hasn’t had one match in the WWE and yet he has a Hall of Fame worthy career. How can you introduce him to a new generation of marks as this huge deal and have him lose?

So, Sting’s gotta win. Who can he beat? No one that’s active, you gotta pass the torch to those guys, and Sting doesn’t have a WWE torch to give. He needs someone that can not only eat a loss, but desperately needs one as well. The Undertaker needed that loss, and Brock sure as hell didn’t need that win.

Now what? Sting versus Undertaker at WrestleMania 31? What does Sting get out of that besides being the second guy to beat The Undertaker at WrestleMania? He needed something to distinguish himself in the core WWE canon, and they wasted it.

 

I’m Brian Andrews, of course typing LIVE in the Temple of Infinitude, signing off.

/endsermon

Leave a Reply

